RSS

Understanding fitness motivation

04 Jun

How is it that every latest gadget, fitness center, pill, or elixir claims to have the easy solution to being in elite athlete condition? There are still very few people who can purchase the products or services and see the amazing results it claims will happen. People do see results though, and I believe there are two types of people who are motivated to get in shape.

“The Go Getter”: Individual is motivated and has a goal they have to work for (note: for  a procrastinator this is a no go).  The individual works hard and understands that eating healthy, along with their workout routine, can and will yield results.

“Purchase Exerciser”: This type of individual is known to only be motivated to workout after purchasing a product or service. I am part of this group and so are most Americans. The perfect example happened a few weeks ago to me when I walked into a local supplement store to kill some time, and the man behind the counter stepped out and gave me his two cents and convinced me that some good ol’ fashioned protein to help me build muscle will give me optimum results. In turn, I noticed that I was more motivated to workout, the intensity of my workout increased, and I stuck to a routine better, at least for a week or two anyway. The purchase does not have to be just protein, I have seen this effect with many people. They purchase a product or service, and in turn, they feel the strong need to workout because they spend their hard-earned money on a product to get them in shape. If I drop $120 on P90X, you bet I am going to use it and get the most I can out it by working out the 6 days a week and following the low carb diet they tell me to. Same goes for a gym membership or personal trainer sessions.

Don't stop if its working.

People are motivated by different things, the name of the game in fitness is to make sure you are having fun. If you don’t, your healthy lifestyle will be short-lived when you dread working out. If you are like the first individual I described, I envy you. If you are more like the second individual, there is nothing wrong with this and you simply need to understand what is motivating you and if you need to hire a trainer, purchase a membership to a gym, pick up some supplements, or sign up for a run or walk, then so be it. As long as you find yourself exercising day in and day out, you can reflect on what is motivating you and hang on to that notion.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Understanding fitness motivation

  1. The FitNinja Goddess

    June 10, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Hey believe it or not, I’m a Procrastinating Gogetter! 🙂

    I think most of us understand the need to be eat healthy and exercise but struggle with doing it for many reasons. Money, time, and the daily challenges in life can affect our ability to commit to living a better life.

    It took me months of procrastination before I actually flipped the switch and made the commitment to make exercise (hate that word) a part of my own life (except weekends). What helped me a great deal was having a workout buddy who wanted to make the same lifestyle change. I will take breaks here and there, but I’m fully committed to making the change.

    I understand about the people in the second category and agree that most of us are like that. We are a nation of consumers. That’s something else about myself I’d like to change.

    Anyway, I enjoyed reading your posts and I’m always looking for new ways to incorporate physical fitness and physical activity in general into my life, and learning about what motivates others to make positive changes towards living a healthier life.

     

Leave a comment